Reading Symphony Orchestra Online Archives
<Back to Main Archive Page

Seventy-eighth Season [1990-1991]

September 15, 1990
PeterNero Trio:Peter Nero, piano; RichardNanista, bass;
Steve Pemberton, drums
Peter Nero
, conducting

October 20, 1990
Prelude from Act III of theOpera Lohengrin
Richard Wagner

“Adagio cantabile” from SymphonyNo. 2
Charles Ives

Billythe Kid, Ballet
Aaron Copland

Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68
Johannes Brahms

November 10, 1990
Overture from the Opera Ruslanand Lyudmila
Mikhail Glinka

Piano Concerto No. 1 in F-sharpMinor, Op. 1
Sergei Rachmaninov

William Wolfram,piano

Symphony No. 6 in B Minor, Op. 74, Pathétique
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

December 15, 1990
Canzona for Brass Choir
Giovanni Gabrieli

Kolnidrei for Cello andOrchestra, Op. 47
Max Bruch

Ulrich Boeckheler,cello

Concerto for Piano, Violin, Cello andOrchestra in C Major,
Op. 56, ”Triple Concerto”
Ludwig van Beethoven

Susan Starr, piano; Eliot Chapo,violin;
Ulrich Boeckheler, cello

AChristmas Festival
Leroy Anderson

January 19, 1991
Overture from the Opera DonGiovanni
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

“Il mio tesoro intanto”
from the Opera Don Giovanni
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

KennethRiegel, tenor

“Crudele! Ah nò, mio bene” and“Mà qual mai s’offre, oh Dei”
from the Opera Don Giovanni
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

FayeRobinson, soprano; KennethRiegel, tenor

“Vissi d’arte” from the Opera Tosca
Giacomo Puccini

FayeRobinson, soprano

“Donna non vidi mai” from theOpera Manon Lescaut
Giacomo Puccini

Kenneth Riegel,tenor

“Vogliatemi bene” from the Opera Madama Butterfly
Giacomo Puccini

FayeRobinson, soprano; KennethRiegel, tenor

“Bacchanale” from the Opera Samson et Dalila
Camille Saint-Saëns

“Intermezzo” from the Opera Cavalleria rusticana
Pietro Mascagni

“Obéissons quand leur voix appelle”from the Opera Manon,“Gavotte”
Jules Massanet

FayeRobinson, soprano

“Ah! fuyez, douce image” from theOpera Manon
Jules Massanet

KennethRiegel, tenor

“Toi! Vous!” from the Opera Manon
Jules Massenet

FayeRobinson, soprano

KennethRiegel, tenor

February 9, 1991
Adagio for StringsSamuel Barber

Concerto for Flautino [Piccolo] andStrings in C Major, RV 443
Antonio Vivaldi
Kimberly Reighley-Wells, piccolo

Ciacconafor Violin and Orchestra
Giovanni Battista Vitali

Bertram Greenspan,violin

“Wotan's Farewell” and “MagicFire Music”
from the Opera Die Walküre
Richard Wagner

Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67,“Fate”
Ludwig van Beethoven

March 2, 1991
Overture from the Ballet
Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus
Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No.41 in C Major, K. 551, “Jupiter”
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Opus 47
Dmitri Shostakovich

April 20, 1991
“Building the Barn” from the Movie Witness
Maurice Jarré

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Major, Op. 35
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Isabella Lippi, violin

Symphony No. 21 in F-sharp Minor, Op. 51, Symphonie Ballade
Nicolai Miaskovsky

Pini di Roma, Symphonic Poem, “Pines of Rome”
Ottorino Respighi

Reading Symphony Orchestra
147 N. 5th St. Reading Pa, 19601-3401

This site designed & coordinated by
Reading Eagle Company Internet Services, Reading, PA