Reading Symphony Orchestra Online Archives
<Back to Main Archive Page

Sixty-ninth Season [1981-1982]

October 4, 1981
Overture from the OperaBenvenuto Cellini
Hector Berlioz

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58
Ludwig van Beethoven

Abbey Simon, pianist

Symphony No. 5 in D Minor, Op. 47
Dmitri Shostakovich

November 8, 1981
Excerpts from Ein Sommernachtstraum, Op. 61
Felix Mendelssohn

Concerto for Horn and Orchestra No. 1 in D Major, K. 412
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Concerto for Horn and Orchestra
Thea Musgrave
Barry Tuckwell, hornist

Sinfonische Metamorphosen nach
Themen von Carl Maria von Weber
Paul Hindemith

December 20, 1981
“Pastorale” from Concerto grosso per il santissimo natale
Francesco Manfredini

Serenade of Carols
Morton Gould

“Chorale Prelude on Silent Night” from Die Natali, Op. 37
Samuel Barber

Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A Minor, Op. 28
Camille Saint-Saëns
Bertram Greenspan, violinist

The Nutcracker Suite, Op. 71a
Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Craig Collins, magical effects
“A Medley of Well Known Carols”
[arranged by Arthur Harris]

January 10, 1982
Overture from the Comical Farce La scala di seta
Gioachino Rossini

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Major, Op. 61
Ludwig van Beethoven
Aaron Rosand, violinist

Symphony No. 4 in F minor, Op. 36
Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

February 14, 1982
WaIter Piston

Concerto for Flute and Orchestra No. 1 in G Major, K. 313
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Night Soliloquy
, for Flute and Strings Kent Kennan
Eugenia Zukerman, flutist

Symphony No. 104
in D Major, Hob. I:104, “London”
Franz Joseph Haydn

March 7, 1982
Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K. 550
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No.4
Gustav Mahler
Marianne Casiello
, soprano

April 18, 1982
Henry Gass, guest conductor

Overture from the Musical Girl Crazy
George Gershwin

Porgy and Bess, Concert Suite
George Gershwin
“A Woman is a Sometime Thing”
“Gone, Cone, Cone”
“My Man's Cone Now”
“Leavin’ fo’ the Promis’ Land”
“I Got Plenty O’ Nuttin’”
“Bess, You Is My Woman Now”
“Oh, I Can’t Sit Down”
“I Ain’t Got No Shame”
“It Ain’t Necessarily So”
“There’s a Boat Dat’s Leavin’ Soon for New York
“Oh Lawd, I’m on My Way”

LillieFoster, soprano; Brian Gibson, baritone
Berks Madrichor Chamber Ensemble; Donald Reber, director

“A Gershwin Look at Love,”
A Medley of Popular Tunes
George Gershwin
[arranged by Henry A. Gass]

“The Pain of It”
“Someone to Watch over Me”
“But Not for Me”
The Man I Love”
“O’ Lady Be Cood”
“The Glow of It”
“Love Walked In”
“Love Is Here to Stay”
“I've Got a Crush on You”
“Embraceable You”
“The Joy of It”
“‘S Wonderful”
“They Can’t Take That Away from Me”
“Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off”
“Who Cares?”

Reading Symphony Orchestra
147 N. 5th St. Reading Pa, 19601-3401

This site designed & coordinated by
Reading Eagle Company Internet Services, Reading, PA