Reading Symphony Orchestra Online Archives
<Back to Main Archive Page

Sixty-eighth Season [1980-1981]

October 10, 1980
Fanfarefor the Common Man
Aaron Copland

Concerto for Pianoand Orchestra No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37
Ludwig van Beethoven
Barry Farber, piano

Symphony No. 2 in EMinor, Op. 27
Sergei Rachmaninov

November 9, 1980
Fugue in G Minor,BWV578, “The Little G Minor Fugue”
Johann Sebastian Bach
[orchesd., Leopold Stokowski]

Symphony No. 22 inE-flat Major, Hob. I:22, “Philosopher”
Franz Joseph Haydn

Haroldin Italy, Op.16
Hector Berlioz
Jospeh DePasquale
, violist

December 14,1980
Amahl and the Night Visitors

Gian Carlo Menotti
Reed Hoover
, Amahl
Deanna Wetherhold
, His Mother
John Perella
, King Kaspar
Warren Ottey
, King Melchior
Brian Gibson
; King Baithazar
Barry E. Long
, The Page
Berks Grand Opera
; RolandFiore, music director

Fantasia on Christmas Carols
for Baritone, Chorus and Orchestra
Ralph Vaughan Williams
Lindsay Benson, baritone; The New Swingle Singers II


“Pastores aBelen”

“O du Fröhliche”

“We Three Kings”
John H. Hopkins, Jr.

“The Holly and theIvy”

“Jingle Bells”

Sonata in G Major, K.13
Domenico Scarlatti

“Clair de Lune”
Claude Debussy

“Flight of theBumble-Bee”
Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov

[all selections arr., Ward Swingle]
The New Swingle Singers II {acapella}
The Many Moods of Christmas, Suite I
[arranged by Robert Shawand Robert Russell Bennett]

“Good ChristianMen, Rejoice”

“Silent Night”
Franz Gruber


“O Come, AllYe Faithful”
The New Swingle Singers II

January 11, 1981
PeerGynt, SuiteNo. 1, Op. 46
Edvard Grieg

Gustav Mahler
Beverly Wolff, mezzo-soprano

Symphony No. 2, Op.16, “The Four Temperaments”
Carl Nielsen

February 15, 1981
Siegfried Idyll
Richard Wagner

Concerto for Pianoand Orchestra No. 23 in A Major, K488
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Lili Kraus, pianist

Excerpts from theBallet Petrushka
Igor Stravinsky

March 8, 1981
Preludefrom the Opera DieMeistersinger von Nürnberg
Richard Wagner

Préludeà L’après-midi d’un faune
Claude Debussy

Pinidi Roma,Symphonic Poem, “Pines of Rome”
Ottorino Respighi

Symphony No. 2 in DMajor, Op. 73
Johannes Brahms

April 12. 1981
Richard Hayman,guest conductor
“Magnificent Music from Stage and Screen” featuring numbers from:
Music Man
No, No Nanette
The Sting
Chorus Line
The Godfather
Ain’t Misbehavin’
The Graduate
That’s Entertainment

Reading Symphony Orchestra
147 N. 5th St. Reading Pa, 19601-3401

This site designed & coordinated by
Reading Eagle Company Internet Services, Reading, PA