Reading Symphony Orchestra Online Archives
<Back to Main Archive Page

Fifty-first Season [1963-1964]

October 6, 1963
Toccata and Fuguein D Minor, BWV 565
Johann Sebastian Bach
[orchesd., Louis Vyner]

Symphony No. 4 in AMajor, Op. 90, “Italian”
Felix Mendelssohn

Concerto for Violinand Orchestra No. 5 in A Major, K. 219, “Turkish”
Wolfgang A. Mozart

Jascha Brodsky,violinist

Firebird,Concert Suite No. 2
Igor Stravinsky

November 17,1963
Symphony No. 1 in CMinor, Op. 68
Johannes Brahms

“Giunse alfin ilmomento,” Recitative and Aria from the Opera Lenozze di Figaro
Wolfgang A. Mozart

Bachianasbrasileiras No. 5 for Voiceand Eight Cellos
Heitor Villa-Lobos

“Tutte le festeal tempio,” Aria from the Opera Rigoletto
Giuseppe Verdi

“Ah fors’è luiquest’anima,” Recitative and Aria from the Opera LaTraviata
Giuseppe Verdi

Benita Valente,soprano

TheComedians, Orchestral Suite
Dmitri Kabalevsky

España,Rhapsody for Orchestra
Emmanuel Chabrier

January 19, 1964
Overture from theIncidental Music for Goethe’s drama, Egmont,Op. 84
Ludwig van Beethoven

Adagiofor Strings
Samuel Barber

ALincoln Portrait Aaron Copland

William E. Maier,narrator

“Introduction andMarch” from the Opera TheGolden Cockerel
Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov

“Three DanceVariations” from Fancy Free
Leonard Bernstein

Picturesat an Exhibition
Modest Moussorgsky
[orchesd., Maurice Ravel]

February 9, 1964
Overture from the Opera Oberon
Carl Maria von Weber

Symphony No. 1 in G Minor
Vasili Kalinnikov

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in E-flat Major, “Triangle”
Franz Liszt

André Watts, pianist

Capriccio espagnol, Op. 34
Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Reading Symphony Orchestra
147 N. 5th St. Reading Pa, 19601-3401

This site designed & coordinated by
Reading Eagle Company Internet Services, Reading, PA