Reading Symphony Orchestra Online Archives
<Back to Main Archive Page

Forty-sixth Season [1958-1959]

October 5, 1958
Overture from the Opera Colas Breugnon
Dmitri Kabalevsky

Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92
Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in B-flat Major, Op. 83
Johannes Brahms

Lee Luvisi, pianist

December 14, 1958
Overture from the Ballet Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus, Op. 43
Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 29 in A Major, K. 201/186a
Wolfgang A. Mozart

Excerpts from the Ballet Romeo and Juliet
Sergei Prokofiev

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58
Ludwig van Beethoven

Anton Kuerti, pianist

February 1, 1959
Louis Vyner, Guest Conductor

Overture from the Opera Il segreto di Susanna
Ermanno Wolf-Ferrari

Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21
Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for Violincello and Orchestra No. 2 in D Major, Hob VIIb:2
Franz Joseph Haydn

Elsa Hilger, cellist

Dances from the Opera The Bartered Bride
Bedřich Smetana

April 26, 1959
Die Hebrides, Concert Overture, Op. 26, “Fingal’s Cave”
Felix Mendelssohn

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D Major, Op. 35
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Norman Carol, violinist

Scheherazade, Symphonic Suite, Op. 35
Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Reading Symphony Orchestra
147 N. 5th St. Reading Pa, 19601-3401

This site designed & coordinated by
Reading Eagle Company Internet Services, Reading, PA