Reading Symphony Orchestra Online Archives
<Back to Main Archive Page

Forty-first Season [1953-1954]

October 18, 1953
Concerto Grosso in D minor, RV [?]
Antonio Vivaldi
[arr., J. S. Bach {?}]

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Ignace Hilsberg, pianist

Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

December 27, 1953
Prelude from the Opera Khovanshchina
Modest Mussorgsky

Symphony No. 5, Op. 47
Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphonie espagnole for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 21
Eduoard Lalo

Aaron Rosand, violinist

March 21, 1954
Overture from the Incidental Music for Goethe’s drama Egmont, Op. 84
Ludwig van Beethoven

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37
Ludwig van Beethoven

Judith Jaimes, pianist

Symphony No. 4 in D Minor, Op. 120
Robert Schumann

April 25, 1954
Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Op. 90, “Italian”
Felix Mendelssohn

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26
Max Bruch

Nathan Goldstein, violinist

“Nuages” and “Fêtes” from Nocturnes
Claude Debussy

Excerpts from the Cantata La Damnation de Faust, Op. 24
Hector Berlioz

Reading Symphony Orchestra
147 N. 5th St. Reading Pa, 19601-3401

This site designed & coordinated by
Reading Eagle Company Internet Services, Reading, PA