Reading Symphony Orchestra Online Archives
<Back to Main Archive Page

Thirty-Fifth Season [1947-1948]

November 23, 1947
Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C Major, BWV 564
Johann Sebastian Bach
[arr., Leo Weiner]

Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61
Robert Schumann

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18
Sergei Rachmaninov

Gary Graffman, pianist

January 11, 1948
SymphonyNo. 1, Op. 25, Classical
Sergei Prokofiev

Concerto for Violincello and Orchestra No. 2 in D Major, Hob. VIIb:2
Franz Joseph Haydn

Samuel Mayes, cello

Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 55, Eroica
Ludwig van Beethoven

March 14, 1948
Symphony No. 2 in E Minor, Op. 27
Sergei Rachmaninov

“People’s Festival” from the Opera Colas Breugnon
Dmitri Kabalevsky

Two Dances from the Ballet Gayaneh
Aram Khachaturian

Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy Overture
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

April 18, 1948
Le carnival Romain, Ouverture caractéristique, Op. 9
Hector Berlioz

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 5 in E-Flat Major, Op. 73, “Emperor”
Ludwig van Beethoven

Jacob Lateiner, pianist

Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Reading Symphony Orchestra
147 N. 5th St. Reading Pa, 19601-3401

This site designed & coordinated by
Reading Eagle Company Internet Services, Reading, PA