Reading Symphony Orchestra Online Archives
<Back to Main Archive Page

Eighteenth Season [1930-1931]

November 23, 1930

Leonore Overture, No. 3, Op. 72b
Ludwig van Beethoven

Variations symphoniques for Piano and Orchestra
César Franck

John Erskine, piano

Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73
Johannes Brahms

Nocturne in E-flat major, Op. 55, No. 2
Frédéric Chopin

Etude in A-flat Major
Frédéric Chopin

Waltz in A-flat Major, Op. 34, No. 1
Frédéric Chopin

John Erskine, piano

“Venusberg Music” from the Opera Tannhäuser
Richard Wagner

December 14, 1930

Overture from the Opera Gwendoline
Emmanuel Chabrier

“Ah, Rendimi” from the Opera Mitrane
{Luigi [?]} Rossi

Celia Branz, contralto

Suite No. 2 for Orchestra, Op. 48, Indian Suite
Edward MacDowell

“Von ewiger Liebe” Op. 43, No. 1
Johannes Brahms

“Mausfallen Sprüchlein” from Sechs Lieder für eine Frauen Stimme
Hugo Wolf

“Night” Brown


Celia Branz, contralto

Vltava, Symphonic Poem from Má Vlast, “The Moldou”
Bedřich Smetana

January 25, 1931

Ruy Blas, Concert Overture after Hugo, Op. 95
Felix Mendelssohn

Variations on a Rococo Theme for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 33
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Hans Kindler, cello

Symphony No. 41 in C Major, K. 551, “Jupiter”
Wolfgang A. Mozart

Frédéric Chopin

Maurice Ravel
{arrd., “Habenera” from Rapsodie espagnole [?]}

“Flight of the Bumblebee” from the Opera The Tale of Tsar Saltan
Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Alfredo Carlo Piatti

Hans Kindler, cello

Geschichten aus dem Wiener Wald, Op. 325, “Tales from the Vienna Woods”
Johann Strauss, Jr.

February 22, 1931

American Fantasia {Pan-Americana?}
Victor Herbert

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1
in G Minor, Op. 26
Max Bruch

Yelly D'Aranyi, violin

A Night on Bare Mountain
Modest Mussorgsky
[arr. and orchesd., Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov]

Giovanni Pergolesi
[arr., Adila Fachiri]

Léo Delibes
[arr., {Louis [?]} Gruenberg]

“Hungarian Dance”
Johannes Brahms
[arr., Joseph Joachim]

“Spanish Dance”
Pablo de Sarasate

Yelly D'Aranyi, violin

Russian Easter Overture, Op. 36
Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov

Reading Symphony Orchestra
147 N. 5th St. Reading Pa, 19601-3401

This site designed & coordinated by
Reading Eagle Company Internet Services, Reading, PA